Step by step

For the most part la bella lingua continues to elude me, and I’m still hoping to be struck by lightning and magically wake up the next day as a fluent Italian speaker. However, I am – in a rather prevaricating, can I be bothered, fashion – trying to learn a new word or phrase a week. Important to get it right though. “Pieno” means fill the car up with petrol at the service station. It does not mean “I’m full” at a restaurant – rather, a filling up of, ahem, a different sort…oooh Matron!

The farmer across the road knocked on the door the other day, gave me some apricots and a fig, then rattled something off. I caught the words for “car” and “fresh”, and wondered if he meant, had I been for a drive when it was still fresh and not too hot? No idea. He took one look at my puzzled expression and wandered off muttering to himself and throwing his hands up in the air.

Ditto an encounter with Giorgio, the town postie – the one who caught me partly inflagrante last summer. I’m in the pharmacy waiting for cat medicine (yes, in the pharmacy), and in comes Giorgio, shaking hands with everyone along the queue with a politician’s slick smile (he knows all their secrets). He sees me, greets me warmly and barks out something. I catch the word “cassetta” (letterbox) but nothing else so smile and say “Si, si, grazie”. Get home to realise he’s telling me the fig tree has come down and is blocking access to my letterbox. Got to get it cleared or the world as Italy knows it might come to an end.

Help does sometimes come out of the blue. I’m selecting bread rolls in the supermarket, and the lovely lady serving me says “Con noci?” With what, I say? A voice pipes up from the meat counter – noci are walnuts. Ah I see, yes please, con noci. At the post office the other day, two strangers chimed in to help, one with an electricity refund, the other with sending a letter special delivery. We all beamed at each other happily – I got my stuff done, they’ve helped the local straniera (foreigner) out and, most importantly, I didn’t hold the queue up.

A straniera I will always be here, I know that now. I’ve had the sheer effrontery to buck the local trend (get married, have babies, never stray far from the kitchen) and move here on my own. Worst of all, Oh Mio Dio, she drives around town in a convertible waving at people she doesn’t know, the hussy!

But slowly but surely, I’m wearing some of them down. I’ve been shopping for odds and sods at the local mini mart for a year now and the owner has for all this time been dour and unfriendly, with a very disapproving air about him. Until last week, when he waved hello at me in the car park and then greeted me with a big smile! I quickly checked – nope, no body parts hanging out or buttons undone. I think I’ve just reached his acceptance level – or spent enough money!

4 thoughts on “Step by step

  1. I’m a latecomer to your blog, but am enjoying your adventures in Abruzzo. My grandparents were from Teramo province (Montepagano/Roseto & Morro d’Oro) and I try to visit often. I too have a dream to live there but don’t qualify for citizenship and only have an Aussie passport. Will have to suffice with long visits when possible. Good luck with la bella lingua, or should I say “In bocca al lupo”. ML

    Like

  2. Hello there,”straniera”! I found your blog in the internet today (May 11, 2019) and really enjoyed it. But it stops at a date of a long time ago! What happened? Did you get fed up with writing or did Abruzzo lose you? That would be very sad! I hope that you will read this somewhere someday… my name is Luigi, I am a civil engineer from Rome, my mother was from Roseto, where I spent long unforgettable childhood summers. Quest for adventure took me to Africa, where I lived for more than years, than to the USA, where I got married, subsequently to the UK and finally back in Italy. Now I am old (same age and frame as Arnold’s and Sylvester’s… yes! those two!). I decided to move to Roseto a few years back. But … I must admit that, just like you, I am also perceived as a “straniero”, in the end. This nothwithstanding my efforts to learn the local dialect, which is a saga full of funny episods. Ok, I hope to hear back from you, one way or another, mia bella straniera! And in any case, I wish you the best of luck with your life!

    Like

    1. Ciao Luigi! Thanks so much for your comment – I did leave Abruzzo in 2017, and have been meaning to update the blog for a while – but life keeps getting in the way :). However, just recently I’ve started turning it into a book to self publish, so will do a new post once I’ve finished it. I did love a lot about living in Abruzzo – but there was lots I didn’t like, and I was very happy to come back to the UK after my grande avventure. A doppo!

      Like

      1. Ciao Lady Jane,
        Thank you for your nice reply, though it’s sad to receive confirmation that you did leave. I regret that I didn’I travel more often to the southern part of Abruzzo… I have a few questions, if you do not mind. Where exactly where you located? Why did you choose Abruzzo to settle and live? And most importantly, what did you not like of your experience there? Not to mention my curiosity for your life now. I guess that I will find the answers in your book. But I will be delighted if you were to give me a little premiere. So, no chance I guess that I could ever come in sight of the nice convertible “maggiolino” carrying that splendid and bright young woman… But you know, hope never dies! And hope is the meaning of my surname, after all. So…
        My sweet Lady Jane
        When I see you again
        Your servant am I
        And will humbly remain…
        Luigi Cesare Speranza

        Like

Leave a comment